top of page

blog

Follow along with our Florence adventure below! 

  • Writer's pictureAshley Rosser

Grocery Madness Tips and Tricks

There are a lot of things you can expect to be different from home while studying abroad in Italy. An obvious one is the language but also things like food, culture, transportation and even fashion can vary.


One aspect you might not think much about is grocery shopping. I know I didn’t. I figured it would be relatively the same as in the United States. While all the basics are still the same, you still pick out your items, put them in a basket and then wait in line and pay, somehow it is still a completely different experience than shopping at your local Publix.

The first task on my grocery shopping journey was to locate a store. Luckily, it didn’t take much exploring to find a Conad down the block from my apartment. Conad is one of the largest supermarket chains in Italy so chances are there is one not too far from you too. While they might be one of the largest in terms of distribution the actual size of the store is quite small. In fact, if you don’t look carefully it is easy to miss.


My first trip to Conad was pure madness. Upon entering the small sliding door, you might notice just how crowded it is. The rooms are small and designed to fit all they can.


The grocery is loud. Lots of people casually chatting in Italian, the cashier making conversation with customers in line and a few employees talking while stocking the shelves.

Instead of a pushcart you can pick up a rolling basket. They are just narrow enough to be pulled through the aisles but can get the job done.

The bright orange baskets are located right by the Conad entrance. They have two different handles and are typically set on the floor and rolled behind the shopper.

My first trip was as quick and therefore painless as possible because I was only grabbing the essentials. I knew I needed something for breakfast, a few snack foods and something easy I could make for lunches.


My excursion resulted in a box of waffles, pasta, pesto sauce, almonds, Nutella and a package of vegan veggie burgers. I was caught off guard when, after agreeing to a bag, I was charged a euro for it.

The food I purchased on my first trip to Conad.

Alas, the next day I realized my trip for essentials really should have included toilet paper and I went back to Conad. This time with a bag in hand.


As my trips to the local Conad became more frequent and I became used to the madhouse that is dodging carts and waiting your turn to walk down the aisle because it’s only large enough for one maybe two small bodies to fit at a time.


However, eventually the confusing maze started to resemble a pattern and I learned a few tips and tricks. I even spoke to a few other people also visiting Florence to see what they thought of the experience.


I ran into a girl named Kate from California and we bonded over our lack of Italian grocery store knowledge. I asked her about her experience shopping here and she agreed that the size of the store presented issues she wasn’t used to. She also said, “I was surprised by how much fresh fruit they had available here, but some of the fruit is a little different from home. Like avocados are greener and have a slightly different texture.”

While the store is small they still have a large selection of fresh produce.

Using my own experiences, that of my roommate and my conversation with Kate, I’d like to share a few tips and tricks with you for navigating your local Italian grocery. These helpful hints will save you not only time and money but might just spare you from that ‘you’re clearly a tourist’ look.


1. Bring your own bag

I learned quickly that most people bring their own reusable bag to the grocery. Italians are big on recycling and cutting down on waste. Bringing your own bag goes hand in hand with that and will save you money. Most grocery stores sell large reusable grocery bags for as little as two euro right by the checkout counter.


Hanging on the bottom shelf you can see reusable Conad bags sold for two euros each.

2. Weigh your own fruits and vegetables

The produce section is a little different than what you might be used to in the U.S. Here, it is expected that you weigh your produce before getting to the register. The scale can usually be found near the fruit and all you have to do is place the fruit on the scale, push the coordinating number and the scale will print out a price sticker that you bring with you to the checkout counter.


3. Water bottles are individually priced

Water is typically on the shelf in packs of four or six. However, the listed price is for one individual bottle and it is perfectly normal to open the packaging to take however many bottles you want. It’s also common to see packs with only one or two bottles left in a package.

Water is stacked on the floor and usually sorted into piles of either sparkling or natural water.

4. Don’t dillydally in the check out line

The grocery stores here are very small compared to what we are used to and might only have one cashier working at a time. That being said, checking out is not a leisurely process. Instead, it is more like a race to the finish line. How fast can you put your groceries up there, pay for them and bag your items? That is what you will come to find out. Having your money out and your bags ready will help.


5. Don’t be afraid to try something new

If you’re like the typical American, then you probably don’t speak Italian. It can be a little intimidating when all the labels and ingredients are in a foreign language. Google translate does wonders and some of my favorite things I’ve tried, I wasn’t totally sure what they were at first.

The deli counter can be confusing since all the labels are in Italian. However, if you're adventurous you can find some delicious fresh foods.

Now that you know a little more about what to expect, go forth! Enjoy your shopping experience. While it is a very different grocery shopping experience and it might take some getting used to, you might even come to enjoy it. Who knows? You might find your new favorite olive oil, come to discover you actually enjoy cornflake chocolate or find a love for Italian waffles.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page