top of page

blog

Follow along with our Florence adventure below! 

  • Writer's pictureAshley Rosser

Florence Fashion: Pack or Pass?

After booking my first international plane ticket, triple checking the itinerary and looking over the class syllabus it was almost time for my trip to begin. But there was still one major thing left to do, pack.

My passport and ticket from my first venture abroad!

Packing can be overwhelming and packing for a place or country you’ve never been before can be an even bigger challenge. While I had a list of basics such as passport, toiletries and adapters. I had no idea what to pack when it came to clothes. In fact, I had no idea what to pack for shoes, accessories or really anything fashion related.


Instead, I thought about what I did know. I knew there would be a lot of walking so whichever shoes I packed needed to be comfortable. Plus, I knew I would need a purse to avoid being pickpocketed. With those two things in mind, I turned to the internet to learn more about Italian fashion.


After consulting Pinterest, as per usual, I had a better understanding of what to pack. Here are a few of the posts I found helpful.

Then I started to pack. The best advice I was given was to make a detailed packing list. Here is the basic template I used.



I used Google Docs to create my list and it was a lifesaver for me. Every item I placed on my list with purpose, this ensured that I wasn’t over packing or mindlessly packing. As I packed each item, I checked it off my list which helped make sure I wasn’t forgetting anything crucial.


Once we landed in Florence I was interested to see just how well I had packed. Did I have a basic understanding of Italian fashion or would it be painfully obvious I was a tourist?

After evaluating the fashion here for a few weeks I’d say I think I did pretty well. Here are some things I have noticed about Italian fashion in my short time abroad.

Neutral Colors Are Everywhere

Unlike at home patterns, prints and neon colors aren’t nearly as prevalent here in Italy. So, leave your Lilly Pulitzer shorts at home and instead opt for some more subdued colored clothing. Classic colors and neutrals such as white, navy, black, baby blue and tan are all winners in Florence. Stripes and white clothes are particularly popular.


An example of typical Italian fashion. Most of the people are wearing neutral colors. Hats, stripes and purses are also very popular.

Say Goodbye to Your Jean Shorts

Yes, you read that right. Even though it is summer, and chances are it’s sweltering hot you won’t be needing your jean shorts. For whatever reason, jean shorts aren’t a popular choice here in Italy. In fact, I don’t think I’ve seen a single Italian wear a pair yet. Instead, other popular options are flowy cloth shorts and pants, skirts, dresses, jumpsuits, or even rompers.


Athleisure Is Not “In”

Like many of us on this trip, you might be used to heading out in leggings or athletic shorts. However, in Italy that is not the case. Athleisure will make you stick out as an American and leave you more susceptible to pickpockets and inflated tourist prices at the local market. Italians tend to dress up a bit more, so instead of leggings consider packing a nice pair of jeans or a long skirt.


Collared Shirts Are a Go To

Polo shirts are an extremely popular style here for men. While this might not apply to you, let your boyfriend, brother or father know because polo shirts dominate men’s fashion here. Some men even choose to wear them with a popped collar. So, if you’re doing some shopping for abroad maybe pick up a polo shirt or two.


In addition, I asked three girls also on the CJC Florence Study Abroad trip for fashion advice. I asked each of them to tell me what clothing item or accessory they were happy they packed and an item they could have left at home. Here is what they said:


Shannon Spicer

  • Pack: t-shirt dress

  • Pass: four handbags

"I’m so glad I brought this t-shirt dress. I’ve worn it probably three or four times now. It’s great because its casual and I can dress it up or down. As for what I didn’t need, I definitely didn’t need to bring four handbags. Two would have been fine, especially since I bought two more here.”


Jackie Kosky

  • Pack: jean jacket and Birkenstocks

  • Pass: umbrella


"My jean jacket is something I’m so glad I packed. It’s light pink, completes any outfit and is the perfect lightweight jacket. I’m also really thankful I packed my Birkenstocks. I thought I would wear sneakers pretty much the whole trip, but it’s been the complete opposite so far. If I was doing it over I would definitely have packed a raincoat instead of an umbrella. My umbrella was so bulky and I ended up buying a raincoat here.”


Sammy Hyatt

  • Pack: combat boots

  • Pass: running shorts


“One thing I’m glad I packed that people might not think to pack are combat boots. Most days I wore my birks (Birkenstocks) but on the cold rainy days here in Florence they doubled as rain boots which were perfect. Hmm, I probably didn’t need to pack any running shorts. I haven’t worn them once since we’ve been here.”

While anticipating another countries fashion can be tricky I wouldn’t stress about it too much. Florence is a city filled with beautiful sites to see, great food and of course tons of shopping. So, if you get here and feel like you didn’t quite pack right you can always pick up a few pieces along the way.


The leather markets are great for purchasing a new jacket, purse or backpack.

A purse I bought at the local leather market.

Or if you’re visiting Venice you can find beautiful handmade jewelry made with Murano glass.

Earrings from Venice handmade with Murano glass.

Even if you just want to pick up a new swim suit, check out Tezenis. It’s an Italian based fashion brand with beachwear, swim suits and accessories.


Florence might not be the biggest city but it’s options for shopping and fashion are endless.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page