top of page

blog

Follow along with our Florence adventure below! 

  • Writer's pictureArianna Baquerizo

Ditta Artigianale: At the Intersection of Modern and Cultural for Award-Winning Coffee

Updated: May 29, 2018

Coffee shops and bakeries can be found at nearly every corner of Florence’s narrow streets. The smell of coffee and fresh pastries floods the city, and there are plenty of options for where to indulge in a gooey chocolate croissant and an espresso.


Within my first few days studying abroad here, I stumbled upon Ditta Artigianale, a coffee shop with a cozy atmosphere, homey decor, and feel good music. I instantly fell in love with its ambience and have come back every morning since.


Ditta Artigianale's entrance on Via dei Neri.

Ditta Artigianale is an artisan company that specializes in slow-roast coffee.

The setting reminded me of a typical coffee shop in New York City. Small wood tables, fit for coffee dates for two, line the left wall right across from the bar and kitchen.


The shop’s bar has liquor cabinets lined with polaroid photos of staff and customers, making it evident that the shop is a very welcoming environment.


Ditta Artigianale offers brunch cocktails, from spritz to mimosas to moscow mules.

White tiled walls and countertops juxtapose more frayed wall designs, resulting in a vibe that encompasses the modern American coffee shop while simultaneously reminding you that you are still in Florence.


Simple accents, such as newspapers hanging from wooden poles and big block letters hanging from the walls, piece the scene together.


Most of the decor consists of black cabinets, frames, and fun block letters.

The name translates to “Artisan Company”, which is reflective of the establishment’s crafted coffees and breakfast goods. The company prides itself for the attention to detail they place on everything they serve their customers.


Ditta Artigianale serves small sandwiches such as the ones pictured above, fresh pastries, and brunch foods.

The shop regularly keeps their large windows open, welcoming some sun and breeze, which makes it feel as if you're enjoying a cup of coffee outside.

Besides the quirky bright turquoise stools and visually appealing sandwich displays, one of the first things that caught my attention upon stepping inside was the menu. Lining the main wall to the right of the entrance, I noticed “scrambled eggs” in handwritten chalk.


Some Americans might be surprised to find out that Italians typically do not have eggs for breakfast. Check out rule number three on this Huffington Post listicle for essential food rules for Americans in Italy.


You can get a good idea of Ditta Artigianale's coffee and brunch options by checking out the menu and prices above.

As I looked at the menu in pleasant surprise (I had been deeply missing eating eggs for breakfast), I was greeted with a warm “buongiorno!” from Simone Amenini, the shop’s manager.


However, that first morning I wasn’t hungry enough for eggs and settled on a plain croissant with a sweet glaze on top. I devoured that one before I could even think of taking a picture, so pictured here is the same one I ordered again on another one of my many visits.


Ditta Artigianale overlooks Via dei Neri, and if you love people-watching, sit at the bar facing the street.

As an avid coffee drinker, I can confidently say Ditta Artigianale has one of the best latte macchiato’s in Florence. Everywhere I go, a latte macchiato is my go-to drink, and I’ve yet to be as impressed by any as I was by this one. I also appreciated the artistic touch of the latte art, which I have to say, upgrades any coffee experience for me.


My everyday simple and typical Italian breakfast at Ditta Artigianale.

After finishing my first small breakfast here, I couldn’t help but ask an employee about the scrambled eggs on the menu. Besides the eggs, I also noticed greek yogurt, avocado toast, pancakes, and french toast as breakfast options. Again, these are items I had not seen in other Italian coffee shops.


The sweet woman who made my coffee referred me to Simone. I told him I was studying abroad and had yet to notice a menu like this elsewhere.


He excitedly explained Ditta Artigianale’s efforts to bring American style breakfast to Italy.


“Lots of different people come in here, usually people that love American style breakfast. The Italian doing brunch is something still developing in Italy,” he said.


On my third visit, I finally decided to order the scrambled eggs with bacon. I sat on a couch and waited to be served as I basked in the shop’s playlist of psychedelic and alternative rock, all while sipping on my usual latte macchiato.


I eagerly watched as my eggs made their way to my table. Just from the first glance, they appeared mouthwatering.


Scrambled eggs with a side of bacon, arugula dressed in olive oil, and unsalted bread.

They were, to say the least, the most delectable eggs and bacon I have ever had.


Now I know that is a drastic statement, as I have just explained that eggs for breakfast are considered absurd in Italy. However, this plate is indicative of Ditta Artigianale’s artisanal standards.


Melted cheese, pepper, and green onion top the scrambled eggs.

The way in which the bacon was wrapped up made it juicier, which preserved more flavor. The curled up strips were also cooked to perfection — not too crunchy, not too chewy.


The arugula was dressed in olive oil, and as someone who is not such a big fan of arugula, I actually loved how this olive oil complemented it, and how the arugula complemented the eggs.


The eggs were perfectly seasoned with pepper, small specks of green onion, and topped with melted cheese. They were also the perfect consistency, a little soft and fluffed, but not too watery. Bellissimo!


For Ditta Artigianale, producing non-industrial crafted coffee that is slow roasted using high-quality ingredients is incredibly important.


A look behind the counter at Ditta Artigianale.

A little hole in the wall incorporating decor that represents the shop's artisan nature.

“People from all over the world visit, because they know of our roasting because we participate in competitions worldwide,” Simone said.


According to Simone, Ditta Artigianale participates in barista competitions and festivals, winning second place once in the Hungarian competition, twice in the French competition, and first place in the Italian competition just last year.


They also placed 11th in the world last November.


Shop manager Simone Amenini and fellow barista.

Simone added that people appreciate how Ditta Artigianale follows the life of the coffee beans from the plantation to the end product that is served to their customers.


A motto for Ditta Artigianale and its team of baristas.

If you are a coffee enthusiast or professional looking to expand your knowledge, Ditta Artigianale also offers a comprehensive training program to learn more about different coffee brewing methods and proper coffee shop practices.


You can find Ditta Artigianale on Via dei Neri, just steps away from the Piazza di Santa Croce.


For the American tourist, and especially those who are staying in Florence for an extended period and might miss a little taste of home, Ditta Artigianale is the ideal fusion of American and Italian culture.


This place makes me want to stay in Florence forever.



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page